top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturehaddoxgm

New York, New Opportunities


This month I had the opportunity to travel to NYC with the Apparel Design & Merchandising department. The department takes a trip every year with about 20 students and the goal is for students to meet with several design companies and scout out future career opportunities.


Tommy Hilfiger Flagship Store

Over the trip we met with a variety of companies to get an idea of different career paths in the design & fashion industry. The companies consisted of Tommy Hilfiger, Longitude Swimwear, and a company who specialized in pleating and patterns. At each meeting we met with several people from the design department, PR, merchandising team, etc. Each meeting was very different from the last and each taught us new information about the design field.


For the remainder of the trip we went to many museums, such as The MOMA and The MET. In addition we also went to Mood, which is one of the largest fabric stores in America. At Mood we had the opportunity to find swatches and fabric for Showcase, which happens in the spring for those of us who will be taking Studio 4.



Overall the trip was an incredible experience. It allowed me to make amazing connections and learn more about the industry from many different points of view. The trip also gave me the opportunity to look into jobs in New York City and imagine if I could picture my life there. After spending a week in the city, I would love to move there more than anything. Living there for a week allowed me to experience a whole new world of entrepreneurship, culture, and opportunity.



To any students, I would recommend to meet with and explore as many job opportunities as you can prior to graduating. By meeting with companies and different departments, it allowed me to hear first hand about their jobs. It also allowed me to get first hand advice on the industry.


I cannot wait to graduate and hopefully find a job in NYC. I look forward to the opportunities there and a city that will lead me to grow and flourish in myself and career.







7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page